Skip to content

My kids in India

January 2, 2011

I had always wondered how other volunteers could be so loving to the children they worked with. Not “loving” in the sense of caring for them, but further having deep affection of them, and missing them when they finally had to leave. But I finally got that sense of feeling in my last week at the center.

I literally fell in love with three of my students. They were the most diligent, studious, and/or unique in their personalities. I believe they care for me in different ways, too :). I started to organize my photos in that last week, and whenever I looked at the pictures with them, I dropped my tears. I can’t believe I met these wonderful kids from a village here. They were shy, yes. They did not speak much English, yes. Many of them were dirty or had wounds, yes. But they were so eager in their study at the center. These are a few of my best memories with them.

My boys! on a field trip with them to Monsoon Palace

My boys! on a field trip with them to Monsoon Palace

There was one girl who cared for me like I was her aunt. She held my hands walking to or out from the center. She called me full voice from her house when I passed by on the motorbike. She listened carefully when I talked even though she barely understood it. They even made me farewell cards on my last day at the center. I was so thrilled.

My students made me farewell cards with funny pictures :)

My students made me farewell cards with funny pictures 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They were lovely, lovely kids. I really wish them well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

