Skip to content

Arrival at Udaipur

November 22, 2010

Last night I arrived at Udaipur. Picked up by two guys: one is Samvit, the founder/director of D.A.A.N, the organization where I am planning to volunteer with in the next one month; another is Arvind, the only full-time teacher at the center. I suppose he operates a taxi, too, which took me from the airport to the homestay and cost me 600 Rupees.

The 45-min drive went by pretty quickly. Samvit helped by chatting with me along the way. I learned about him a bit, and he about me. Specifically, he gave me these wisdom:

  • Don’t rush into things. Take the next 3 days off and explore the city. You will start [volunteer work] on Thursday.
  • Don’t rush into things. People come from the western countries and are so used to the fast pace. They want to get into the action, now, quick. But everything in India takes time.
  • Don’t rush into things. You want to do a lot of things within your one month stay here. But it takes time to get to know the local dynamics, the people, and to build relationships with them. People are often disappointed when they see no results within their short time here. But it takes time.

I was pretty much brainwashed and agreed with him. There is truth in it, I have to say. I was a little disappointed though not to be able to volunteer right away. Besides, what am I going to do roaming the city by myself. An Asian girl walking around cluelessly, with no Hindi and no sense of how far places are. I will soon get ripped off by auto rickshaws and frustrate myself. But I figure I can always use my extra time at the house–doing more important things–rather than out on the street, so I argued no further.

The house was pretty good and big. Samvit stays on the ground floor, and the volunteers on the second. There were two rooms, both bigger than my room in the US. They look good, except that they are unmaintained. The floor and the cupboards are dusty. I decided to walk around on sandals and will not put my clothes in the cupboards. They can stay in the luggage. The bathroom is reasonably clean. It has the traditional squatting toilet.. but it is clean. The water heater is broken–or so he said, so that night (and today) I took shower at the other volunteer’s room.

Our dinner was packed and set on the living room table. Awesome, “It is time to eat”, I thought. I was ready to eat my dinner when the other volunteer arrived. This is when the story started. Watch my next post.

Anyway, it was 10:30 pm and I was tired, physically and mentally. The blanket smell old. Well, it’s freezing cold so I embraced myself to use it anyway.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tirto H. permalink
    November 23, 2010 11:29 am

    bila selimut tua bau,itu tanda tak bersih,bisa2 banyak bakteri atau bahkan virus disitu.saran kita kalau ngak bisa ganti,lebih baik beli yg baru,demi kesehatan sendiri,dan lain hari juga bisa disumbangkan bila sudah ngak pakai. Bagaimana dgn water heater yg rusak,harus dibetulin dong! apa ngak ada heater di rumah,terutama kamar tidur? wah kasian betul si Ahong nih! mudah2an kau tabah,sehat dan selamat ! GBU.

Leave a Reply

