Skip to content

Pecha Kucha on Our Big Universe

September 19, 2010

Last Thursday was another Pecha Kucha day at the ThoughtWorks University.

My slides were ready, my memory was not. I decided to put only pictures on my slides, because too many words or numbers will clutter up the beautiful images of the stars and the galaxies. That means I had to memorize more, how big the stars are, how brilliant, how powerful, mostly in comparison to our sun. Too little or too much memorizing can make one forgets, so I practiced once, took 1-2 hour break, then practice again. I was quite nervous the whole afternoon. Not to mention that I did not have my notes with me when I stepped up for the presentation. But I stepped up, no turning back.

flickr:4996183092      flickr:4995575753

I am sure some people caught my nervous tone, especially in the beginning. I also thought this talk would be all serious and potentially boring for some. But I learned that it is good to make some blunders during the presentation. For example, when I could not recall the name of a galaxy, I said “I don’t remember the friendly name, but the code is 5195.” Laughter burst :D. Ah, I like that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

